Sunday, October 30, 2011

Day 30 - The 5 Languages

I have a niece who is somewhat challenging. She is extremely smart (maybe too smart) and can be very stubborn. And, she can throw a fit like none I've ever seen before. Don't get me wrong, I love her dearly. She's sweet, fun, spunky, and awesomely hilarious. But, when she gets in one of her moods, it's sometimes best to just duck and take cover.

In an effort to try to create a more peaceful environment, my brother did one of the things he does best. Research. He came across some books to help better understand your family. They're called "The 5 Love Languages".  There are several books including ones for couples, apologies, children, and parents of teenagers. 

The 5 languages are: Words of Affirmation, Physical Touch, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, and Acts of Service.  Everybody needs to receive a little of each, but after taking a quiz, you'll find out which two are the most important to you.  Those two are the languages that you need to "hear" the most from those around you. 

The books go into more depth about everything, but you can take the quizzes here for free!  We haven't read the books, but the boys, hubby, and I have all taken the online quizzes, and we're so glad we did.  People tend to do for others what they want done for them.  Different people have different needs, though, and these quizzes will help you find what your loved ones need from you.

I can tell you that since we took these quizzes, we have been able to create a much more harmonious family dynamic.


Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by!

Related Posts with Thumbnails